Death knocks off sports awards

Death knocks off sports awards

Maseru – The Lesotho Sport and Recreation Commission (LSRC) has been forced to postpone the first-ever Lesotho Annual Sport Awards (LASA) because of the sudden passing of its chief executive officer Kholoang Mokalanyane.

Mokalanyane died last Friday at Maseru Private Hospital where he was fighting sugar diabetes.
His burial service will be held at Maseru Club on March 25.

LSRC public relations officer Refiloe Maphallela said the organisation is mourning a great loss in Lesotho’s sport industry.
Maphallela said Mokalanyane’s memorial service will be held next week at a venue that will be confirmed later this week.

He said because of the untimely death of one of their executive members, the LSRC has decided to postpone the Lesotho Annual Sports Awards once more.
The awards were originally scheduled for February 25 but had since been slated for this Saturday.
They will now be held on April 8 at Maseru Avani.

“This has forced us to postpone our awards ceremony again and they will now be held on the 8th April at the same place, same time,” Maphallela said.
“In terms of votes, they were supposed to be closed on the 15th (March) but the closing date will also be postponed and hopefully this will be good for those who are competing,” he added.

The new deadline for votes will now be March 31.
The LSRC gives updates on the voting process every Tuesday and football star Boitumelo Rabale remains in the lead to be crowned the Sports Star of the Year with 53.41 percent of the votes.

The Bloemfontein Celtics women’s captain is followed by Itumeleng Maseatile of dancesport who has 25.95 percent of the votes. Olympic cyclist Phetetso Monese is third with 8.92 percent while his ACE-The Sufferfest Lesotho MTB teammate Teboho Khantsi has 0.20 percent.

Young starlets Badboy Toka and Tšepang Sello, both from the Lesotho Athletics Amateur Association (LAAA), have 8.42 percent and 3.11 percent of the votes respectively.
The winner of the coveted accolade will be decided by a public SMS vote.

Each SMS costs M2. For one vote, voters send their favourite nominee’s code to 31019 and to 31012 for 15 votes.

LASA Sports Star of the Year nominees:
Teboho Khantsi (code: SRY1)
Toka Badboy (SRY2)
Phetetso Monese (SRY3)
Boitumelo Rabale (SRY4)
Tšepang Sello (SRY5)
Itumeleng Maseatile (SRY6)

Luciah Phahla


Previous Fight over MEC name, symbols
Next LCS says ready for the kill

About author

You might also like


Phungulwa in line for top award

MASERU – The Bantu duo of James Madidilane and Lindokuhle Phungulwa (Pictured) are in line for a double dose of Econet Premier League monthly awards after the nominees for October’s


likuena set cosafa target

Maseru – For years Lesotho has toiled to win a trophy on the international football stage, to no avail. The closest the country came was in 2000 when Likuena enjoyed


Notši remains defiant

Maseru – Despite a demoralising 1-0 defeat at the hands of Vodacom Premier League champions Lioli on Sunday, Kick4Life head coach Leslie Notši remains proud of his boys. Sunday’s match