Khereng leads race for top award

Khereng leads race for top award

MASERU – Distance runner Khereng Khereng leads the voting for the 2018 Lesotho Annual Sports Awards (LASA) Sports Star of the Year award.
The first of the weekly voting updates were released on Wednesday by the Lesotho Sport and Recreation Commission (LSRC).

Khereng is up for the award against five other top athletes being the 2017 Two Oceans half-marathon champion Namakoe Nkhasi, Jobo Khatoane, ‘Neheng Khatala, Ntebaleng Letsela as well as Lineo Chaka.

This year’s LASA awards are set to be held on March 17 with the voting process set to be closed at the end of February.
The LSRC published the final nominees last week Friday and the public will vote for the 2018 Sports Star of the Year winner through an SMS voting line.

Last year the prestigious accolade was won by football star Boitumelo Rabale who has not been shortlisted this year.
Khereng currently leads the way with 57 votes but is closely followed by Jobo Khatoane with 52 votes. ‘Neheng Khatala is third with 37 votes while Ntebaleng Letsela is fourth with 8 votes.

LASA 2nd Edition Finalists:

Junior Female Sportsperson of the year
Manqabang Tsibela – Athletics
Reitumetse Taioe – Chess
Malillo Phera – Chess

Junior Male Sportsperson of the year
Tseliso Masoenyane – Taekwondo
Koneshe Mojela – Athletics
Teboho Lelimo – Chess

Sportsman of the year
Namakoe Nkhasi – Athletics
Jobo Khatoane – Athletics
Khereng Nelson Khereng – Athletics

Sportswoman of the year
‘Neheng Khatala – Athletics
Ntebaleng Letsela – Athletics
Lineo Chaka – Athletics

Newcomer of the year
Molatoli Leshota – Athletics
Khabo Suiching – Taekwondo
Koneshe Mojela – Athletics

Administrator of the year
Moses Kopo – Boxing
Nomazondo Seleteng – School Sports
Mokhosi Mohapi – Football

Volunteer of the year
Retselisitsoe Goodman – Community Sports
Pule Rantseli – Athletics, Equestrian
Kamoho Ramontsoe -School Sport

National Federation of the year
Lesotho Boxing Association- LeBA
Lesotho Primary Schools Sports Association -LePSSA
Chess Federation of Lesotho- CFL

Sports Team of the year
Red Skins Volleyball Club -Volleyball
Makoanyane XI Football Team -Football
Leqele High School Netball Team –Netball

Coach of the year
Tšepo Raletooane – Volleyball
Teboho Sello – Athletics
Mabuthile Lebopo – Athletics

Umpire/Referee of the year
Thabiso Snyman – Boxing
Chakatsa Lephole – Netball
Mamakebe Moshoeshoe – Netball

Sport Legacy Awards
Seephephe ‘Mochini’ Matete – Football
Motlatsi Ncholu – Radio Sport Commentator
Rantsubise Matete – Print Sport Reporter

Sport Star of the year
Namakoe Nkhasi – Athletics
Jobo Khatoane – Athletics
Khereng Nelson Khereng – Athletics
‘Neheng Khatala – Athletics
Ntebaleng Letsela – Athletics
Lineo Chaka – Athletics

Luciah Phahla

Previous In-form Matlama to take on Likhopo
Next Bantu prays for miracle in Mbabane

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/thepostc/public_html/wp-content/themes/trendyblog-theme/includes/single/post-tags-categories.php on line 7

About author

You might also like


Early Xmas for Likuena

MASERU – Lesotho’s national team, Likuena, received an early Christmas present yesterday when they were awarded M53 400 to share by the Lesotho Football Association. The loot is a reward for


Mohapi defends aborted Swazi trip

  Luciah Phahla Maseru Lesotho Football Association (Lefa) general secretary Mokhosi Mohapi has defended the governing body after another embarrassing gaffe last week. In what was the latest in Lefa’s


The rise and rise of Bokamoso

Maseru – Bokamoso South have taken the Lesotho basketball scene by storm. The upstart team are top of the National Basketball League ahead of experienced luminaries such as national champions