Sports awards nominees out

Sports awards nominees out

Maseru – Middle distance runners Tšepang Sello and Toka Badboy headline the finalists for the inaugural Lesotho Annual Sport Awards (LASA).
The final nominees were announced yesterday at a media briefing held at the Lesotho Sport and Recreation Commission’s (LSRC) headquarters in Maseru.
Both Sello and Badboy scored three nominations in three different categories and are followed by cyclists Teboho Khantsi and Phetetso Monese with two nominations each.
Khantsi and Monese ride for the ACE-The Sufferfest Lesotho mountain-bike team.

The Lesotho Annual Sport Awards will be held on March 18 at Avani Maseru and the winners in each category will walk away with a trophy and a certificate.
LSRC development coordinator and awards organising committee member, Malitsietsi Zwakala, said the number of nominees is less than what they expected and but explained the awards are important because they will motivate Lesotho’s athletes and associations to perform well in every competition they participate in.
“Motivation is not only meant for the athletes, it is for the associations as well,” Zwakala said.

“Some of the associations said they had financial difficulties this (past) year and did not attend as many competitions as they would have liked and did not do well, hence why we have less number of nominations. But, we are hoping they will look for sponsorship and find other means to ensure they participate in future so that they can see their athletes being nominated.”

The main award of next month’s ceremony will be the sports star of the year where five athletes have been nominated in a tough field.
The nominees include the 19-year-old Sello who competed at the Rio Olympics last year. Sello is also in contention for the junior female sportsperson and sportswoman of the year.
Also nominated is Boitumelo Rabale who captained the Bloemfontein Celtic women’s team to the national title in South Africa in 2016 and Monese who last year became the first Lesotho cyclist to qualify for the Olympics Games.

Badboy, meanwhile, won gold in the 3000 and 5000 metres at the African Union Sports Council (AUSC) Region 5 Under-20 Games in Angola in December.
In other categories, surprise Vodacom Premier League title contenders Kick4Life have been nominated for the sports team of the year alongside Bokamoso basketball club and the 2016 COSSASA Under-13 football team.


Junior Female Sportsperson of the year
Matšeliso Toloane (LNA)
Tšepang Sello (Berea Athletics/ LAAA)
Manqabang Tsibela (LEPSSA)

Junior Male Sportsperson of the year
Ntai Sethunya (FEDALE)
Toka Badboy (Berea Athletics/ LAAA)
Tšepang Sehlabi (FEDALE)

Sportsman of the year
Teboho Khantsi (FCL)
Toka Badboy (Berea Athletics/LAAA)
Phetetso Monese (FCL)

Sportswoman of the year
Boitumelo Rabale (LEFA)
Tšepang Sello (Berea Athletics/LAAA)
Itumeleng Maseatile (FEDALE)

Sportswoman of the year with Disability
Lomile Makobane (NAPCOL)
Mpati Phakoe (NAPCOL)
Litšitso Khotlele (NAPCOL)

Sportsman of the year with Disability
Khotso Mojaki (NAPCOL)
Bolae Lekoetje (NAPCOL)
Rethabile Mphou (NAPCOL)

Newcomer of the year
Mahahapa Masilo (LBA)
Tanki Mechele (Berea Athletics/LAAA)
Manqabang Tsibela (LEPSSA)

Administrator of the year
Abiel Lekulo (LNA)
Thabo Ntsane (LEPSSA)
Sakhoane Moshabesha (LBA)

Volunteer of the year
Retšelisitsoe Goodman (‘Nelese Regional Sport Development)
Fako Masupha (LBA)
Moorosi Makhofola (Community Sports Development)

National Federation of the Year
Lesotho Cricket Association (LCA)
Federation of Dancesport Lesotho (FEDALE)
Lesotho Basketball Association (LBA)

Sports School of the year
Lerotholi Polytechnic (LUCSA)
Leqele Primary (LEPSSA)
Leqele High School (LISA)

Sports Team of the year
COSSASA U13 Football Team (LEPSSA)
Bokamoso Development Program (LBA)
Kick4Life FC (LEFA)

Coach of the year
Selloane Tšoaeli (NAPCOL)
Sefali Sefali (LEPSSA& LAAA)
Sebusiso Keketsi (LABA)

Umpire/Referee of the year
Chakatsa Lephole (LNA)
Moshoeshoe Molapo (LTA)
Abiel Lekulo (LNA)

Sport Legacy Award
Chaplin Sechele (Pioneer- LABA)
Tšitso Marumo (Athlete)
Bishop Molatoli (Coach)
Nkalimeng Makhube (Pioneer- Women in Sport Comittee)
Pitso Mosothoane (Coach & Administrator)
Limpho Mokhochane (Admnistrator)

Sports Star of the year
Teboho Khantsi (FCL)
Toka Badboy (Berea Athletics/ LAAA)
Phetetso Monese (FCL)
Boitumelo Rabale (LEFA)
Tšepang Sello (Berea Athletics/LAAA)
Itumeleng Maseatile (FEDALE)

Sports Star of the year
Teboho Khantsi SRY1
Toka Badboy SRY2
Phetetso Monese SRY3
Boitumelo Rabale SRY4
Tšepang Sello SRY5
Itumeleng Maseatile SRY6

The Sports Star of the year will be voted by the public and sms lines are already open and each sms cost M2. For one vote, sms nominees code to 31019 and for 15 votes to 31012

Luciah Phahla

Previous KTA All-Stars coach defiant
Next Nkhasi to return to track in Durban

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/thepostc/public_html/wp-content/themes/trendyblog-theme/includes/single/post-tags-categories.php on line 7

About author

You might also like


LDF Ladies a point away from league title

Mohale’s Hoek – Lesotho Defence Force (LDF) Ladies need just one more point from their final two matches to win the 2017 Women’s Super League. If successful it would mark


Lesotho Post Bank to sponsor A-Division

MASERU – The Lesotho Football Association (LEFA) and Lesotho Post Bank on Tuesday unveiled a three-year partnership that will see the government-owned bank sponsor the A-Division starting from this season.


Likuena in dreamland

MASERU – Just when it seemed Lesotho’s hopes of a first-ever trip to the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) had vanished, the country has a lifeline and is daring to dream