Women to honour footballers

Women to honour footballers

Maseru – The newly-formed Ladies in A Men Dominated Game Association (LMDG) will host an awards ceremony on Saturday to “motivate players” and “attract sponsors to support local football”.
LMDG was established last July by female supporters of three Vodacom Premier League clubs — Matlama, Bantu and Lioli.
“The purpose of the association is to support soccer in the country,” LMDG secretary general Tsehlana Morema said.
“We formed this association as women to support the sport because we saw a need in football and that we should lend a hand in the growth of the sport. So the coming awards are meant to motivate the players,” she added.

The association only has 11 members. It planned to include all 14 Vodacom premiership clubs in its inaugural awards however, due to lack of funds, only last season’s top eight teams will receive prizes. “The plan was to host awards to motivate the players,” Morema said. “We were not going to give only one player an award but we planned to give at least one outstanding player from all 14 teams an award as a way to motivate them. But we have a monthly subscription of M100 and we failed to get sponsorship, so that will force us to give out awards to only the top eight teams (from last season),” she said.

Morema said LMDG will only include two women’s categories in the awards because the Women’s Super League season is still underway.
“We will have a Ladies Woman of the Moment (award) and an outstanding player award and as soon as their league is finished then we will hold the full women’s awards,” she said.
“This year we are going to have five categories for the LMDG awards,” Morema said. “We are planning to have more categories next year.”

LMDG Categories and Nominees:
Category one:
Fans’ favourite player:
Thapelo Mokhehle
Itumeleng Falene
Hlompho Kalake

Kefuoe Mahula
Motebang Sera
Phafa Tšosane

Likano Mphuthi
Molibeli Janefeke
Mojela Letsie

Lehlohonolo Lenka
Sepiriti Malefane
Lehlohonolo Moabi

Sky Battalion:
Tšepang Ntšenyane
Bonang Mohapi
Tsietsi Motšeare

Tšepo Seturumane
Tumelo Khutlang
Tšoanelo Koetle

Tanki Makhele
Basia Mokepe
Tefa Makhoana

Thabiso Brown
Bokang Mothoana
Thabo Masualle

Category two:
Women’s Super League outstanding player:
Nominees to be announced at the event

Category three:
Ladies man of the moment:
Kopano Tseka (Lioli)
Michael Mireku (Matlama)
Itumeleng Falene (Bantu)

Category four:
Ladies woman of the moment:
Lerato Kheme (LDF)
Rethabile Ntobo (K4L)
Mosili Motšoeneng (K4L)

Category five:
Last man standing:
Nominees to be announced at the event

Mohloai Mpesi

Previous Creating competitive advantage
Next Marai wants LCS to build on cup success

About author

You might also like


Secker wants to deliver sucker punch

MASERU – Last season was a memorable one for Matlama, just for the simple fact ‘Tse Putsoa’ ended an agonising eight-year trophy drought by winning the Lesotho National Insurance Group (LNIG)


LCS seek to defend Alliance Winter title

MASERU – After months of waiting, Mpitsa Marai and his Lesotho Correctional Service (LCS) charges will finally get a taste of live action when they defend their Alliance Winter Tournament this


Makoanyane XI sharpen swords for South Africa

Luciah Phahla Maseru One step away from qualifying for next year’s Africa U-20 Cup of Nations, Lesotho’s Under-20 side returned to training on Monday to start preparations for their next