LDF to take part in Champions League

LDF to take part in Champions League

MASERU-Women Super League champions Lesotho Defence Force (LDF) are set to take part in the inaugural COSAFA Women’s Champions League billed to start in June or August.

Although the tournament’s dates and hosts have not been finalised, COSAFA unveiled its newest competition yesterday and it will serve as the qualifiers for the first-ever CAF Women’s Champions League scheduled to take place towards the end of this year.
COSAFA secretary general Sue Destombes said the COSAFA Women’s Champions League enhances their commitment to women’s football and advancing the sport in the Southern African region.

The tournament, which COSAFA say is another major step forward for women’s football in the region, will see eight sides split into two groups of four, playing a minimum of three games.
“We are incredibly excited to stage our first COSAFA Women’s Champions League which will be a chance for the leading clubs in the region to not only lift a prestigious trophy, but also take their place at the continental finals,” she said.

“We only have to look at our national teams to see the enormous talent in the Southern Africa and I am quite sure that our club sides can make a big impact at the CAF Women’s Champions League in the future,” she continued.
The top two teams in each pool will advance to the semi-finals and COSAFA say the Women’s Champions League is a thrilling new addition to its calendar.

The eight teams confirmed for the inaugural showpiece are Prisons XI (Botswana), Manzini Wanderers LFC (eSwatini), Lesotho Defence Force (Lesotho), Costa Do Sol (Mozambique), Tura Magic (Namibia), Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (South Africa), Green Buffaloes Women (Zambia) and Black Rhino Queens (Zimbabwe).
All eight clubs will be dreaming of a spot in the CAF Women’s Champions League which was launched last September.

The 2021 edition will be the first and the eight-team competition will be organised each year during the period of October, November or December.
Seven teams will qualify for the CAF Women’s Champions League through qualifiers organised by CAF’s zonal unions. The eighth team will be the champion club from the host country who will gain automatic qualification.

Tlalane Phahla

Previous League could be called off
Next Air Badminton Day at Sefika

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/thepostc/public_html/wp-content/themes/trendyblog-theme/includes/single/post-tags-categories.php on line 7

About author

You might also like


Kwesé Sports seals Euro 2020 deal

Maseru – Econet Media’s sports content platform, Kwesé Sports, has signed a four-year deal with the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) to broadcast the EURO 2020 Championships as well


FIFA boss sweeps into town

…Heaps praises on Lefa for developing football… MASERU – FIFA president Gianni Infantino has congratulated the Lesotho Football Association (LEFA) on the work it is doing to develop football in


Econet to reward premier league stars

MASERU – The Premier League Management Committee (PLMC) has released this year’s nominees for the Econet Premier League (EPL) awards set to be held tomorrow at Victory Hall in Maseru.